The story behind the book

 

51NDNQ0FFiL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

 

See the book here.

When Benjamin and I embarked on this adventure a few months ago we decided to tell a story that almost anyone could read with some pleasure and understand, even if they didn´t always agree with the way our “script” was set up.

One requirement was that the book´s title had to have “Market Monetarism” in it. The subtitle: “Roadmap to Economic Prosperity” was decided just before publication and the hint was given by Robert Hetzel who e-mailed me to say he had “liked the ‘Roadmap’ I had sent him very much”.

We decided to begin our story in 1960 because that´s when economists became VIP´s. Given what soon transpired, one may think economists, especially those in charge of policy, are a ‘dangerous specie’. Maybe so!

We are greatful to many people. Over the last few years a diverse group of people have ‘flocked together’ through blogs and comments and helped shape our story. We were very pleased when Scott said he would write a Foreword “with pleasure”.

We want to thank in particular Catherine Johnson who took the trouble to do a detailed ‘copy-edit’ (but all errors that remain are exclusively our responsibility). Becky Hargrove was always encouraging and also very sweeet.

It´s interesting that a duo comprised of an American living in rural Thailand and a Brazilian residing in the ‘jungle’ that is the city of Sao Paulo in Brazil and who never met in person could comunicate and exchange ideas so easily (even with a 10 hour time difference!)

But it all started 4 years ago when Scott Sumner began to blog. Initially the name was the horrible sounding “quasi monetarist”. Thank goodness Lars Christensen came up with the much better sounding “Market Monetarist”. I was especially pleased to host Lars´ post in September 2011, before he began his own blog, where he introduced the ‘concept’. I have also never met Lars personally but we often ‘talk’ on ‘Google chat’, sometimes for quite a while.

Back in late 2009 I wrote a ‘memo to myself’ which I called “The crisis from an AD perspective“. Almost two years ago I posted it. I was convinced by the story I told! NGDP-LT is really the way to go.

It is also good that MM´s are not a ‘monolithic group’. There are different strands of thought running among the participants. I will mention just one: the difference I have with David Beckworth on the ‘approprietness’ of monetary policy during the 2002-05 period. David believes the Fed was “too expansionary”. In Chapter 6 of our book we argue the Fed acted ‘properly’ when it kept interest rates low “for too long”.

We were pleased to see that our book came out just as market monetarism and NGDP targeting are getting so much attention, both by being endorsed by ‘famous’ people and by being critised by equally ‘famous’ people.

We hope it modestly contributes to the ‘debate’.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The story behind the book

  1. Got it on my kindle today, I’ll start reading it as soon as im done with Acemoglu/Robinson. Im sure ill enjoy it the same way I enjoy your posts! 😀

  2. Not to be overly offensive…but why is the cover so…bad?

    I want to know because I want to know how covers get chosen.

    • Niklas, It must be impossible to make “everyone happy”. Several people opined! But, following your comment we hope people out there “skip” the cover and “jump” to the content!

      • I wouldn’t say that I am :”unhappy”, but I’ve designed quite a few book covers (some actually used, but not pictured on that site) and I’ve been willing to give away the designs simply for credit…and not many takers!

  3. I also wish to thank everyone who helped on this book, along with Marcus Nunes, who is the real “power” behind the book.

    My role, as a financial journalist and published author, was to keep the copy smooth, and add a few insights, and one exploratory chapter.

    Nunes’ shows incredible range and authority over postwar US economic and monetary history, all delivered in a relatively slender book. Laden with easy-to-read graphs—the way economics should be.

    I wish I had been able to read a book like this a long time ago.

  4. Congratulations, Marcus and Benjamin. Just downloaded it and looking forward to reading it. Off-topic – Marcus, I know you have posted lots on Brazil before… do you have any old posts on what a NGDPLT would look like for Brazil?

  5. Ravi-
    Whoever you are, thanks, and I look forward to your commentary on the book, and future conversations…..

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.