The FOMC is content playing “loves me, loves me not”, not with daisies, but with data

Love me love me not_1

And never realizes that it´s not the Fed who´s “data dependent”, but it´s the data that is “Fed-dependent”!

So they frequently have to go through some contortionism, like this “tongue-twisting” comment from Atlanta´s Dennis LockhartLove me love me not_2

The [employment]report was not a sign that the economy was slowing, he said. It could be the “natural slowing” in job creation as the economy gets closer to full employment, he said.

One thought on “The FOMC is content playing “loves me, loves me not”, not with daisies, but with data

  1. What is Lockhart talking about? I can’t understand his statement at all. Is it soaring wage demands from potential new hires? Automatic stabilizers? Lower aggregate demand because more people have more income from more jobs but want to save more because they know recessions occur when we near full employment? Help!

Leave a Reply

